Joe’s Special

It has been awhile, once again,  since I have actually written a post.  I still have lots of ideas and will try to follow through with them in blog posts.  I don’t want to use the excuse of no time as we all know there is always time; it is just what we chose to do with it.  Some huge news is that I have become a grandmother since I last posted. I am beyond excited and am looking forward to spending some memorable moments with my granddaughter.  Yep, you guessed it, I can’t stop knitting.  Little garments are so addictive not to mention quick!  You all know how much I like instant gratification. This mini knitting has also rekindled my desire to make some sweaters for me.  Not, so instant gratification!!!

I am still devouring books – just loving reading right now.  My first long hike since the hip replacement (coming up on 5 months) is Sunday and I am so excited.  Looks like perfect weather, too.  Check in on Instagram for some photos.   The baking is still going strong and I am loving Tessa Huff / Style Sweet Ca at the moment.  Her book, LAYERED, has the most delicious cakes not to mention beautiful photography.  I am currently drooling over the various layered cookie recipes on her blog. I highly recommend it.

Some sadness and loss of friends. What is it ‘they’ say “it’s not if life throws you a curve ball, but when!”  It’s always a learning experience when something unexpected happens, but it is important to get perspective and practice acceptance.  Take things at face value and don’t let your ego get in the way.  Focus on what you can control which is often just yourself; not what you can’t. Ask the right questions  in order to understand why this change happened and keep an open mind. Meditate.  Mourn your loss, humour never hurts, be positive and remember my mantra KEEP MOVING. Life is an adventure.  It’s your adventure so don’t get derailed.  Breathe.

Dignity Health is running a sweet TV commercial with a human kindness theme.  It’s a great reminder.   Does being there for someone matter:  Yes.  You hold the power to heal.  Something to think about in today’s crazy world.  Make your space healthy not toxic. Think before you speak; be kind!

IMG_5272

 

Now you ask, “what does all this have to do with the title of the blog, Joe’s Special?”  Absolutely nothing. I cooked this dish for dinner last night and thought it would be an easy recipe to share. It’s comfort food: a hearty scramble of eggs, ground beef, spinach, mushrooms and onions. It originated in San Francisco in the 1920’s and folklore has it that a customer ordered a spinach omelet very late one night and asked the chef if he had anything else to add to it. Hamburger was added and Joe’s Special was born.  Over the years, many variations have been created using chorizo, spicy Italian sausage or omitting the scrambled egg and putting a fried egg atop each serving. I must admit that I haven’t experimented much other than using the fresher ingredients that are now accessible to us.   I have been cooking this dish for years and particularly like it for breakfast with a side of vine ripe tomatoes and avocado.

I am going to share my recipe which I must warn you isn’t exactly a recipe – think of it as a guide.  You can make no mistakes; just have some fun with you very own adaptation (trust me, it changes each time I make it). This is a quick, easy and healthy meal; I make it a bit more complicated by using three pans.  One will suffice.

Ingredients
Butter or canola oil
Mushrooms, sliced (8 oz)
Onion, chopped (1)
Garlic, chopped (4)
Baby Spinach  (6-8 oz)
Ground Beef, very lean ( 1 lb)
Worchestershire Sauce (1t)
Black Pepper
Salt
Nutmeg (1/8 t)
Eggs (4-6)
Hot Sauce

Put the mushrooms (I use a mixture of crimini and white) in a large skillet with butter letting them brown over medium heat.  No need to stir often.  Once browned the add garlic and  onions cooking  until translucent  (about 5 minutes).

While this is happening in the first pan, cook the ground beef with the nutmeg (careful, a little goes a long way, IMO) & worchestershire in a second pan. While the beef is cooking  whisk the eggs in a bowl with a little bit of water and the hot sauce (I love the Texas Pete brand).

Once the mushroom mixture is ready add the spinach in batches until wilted. Add the cooked burger (make sure it is cooked all the way through) to this mixture.  Season with salt and pepper to your palette.

In yet another pan scramble the whisked eggs with butter  and then add them to the vegetable-burger mixture and gently combine.

Serve with a crusty sour dough bread and Enjoy!!!

Leave a Reply

